Privacy on Tinder: Swipe Right to Learn More.

I’ve been in an open, toxic, love-hate relationship with Tinder since sometime in 2014. As if the world of dating weren’t awful enough in real life, why not add wading through the thigh-high swamp water of the internet to it?
It’s fairly recent that Tinder started advertising to users. My ads started with upcoming movies, featuring a handsome leading man as if he were a user (What? Channing Tatum is in my area? Swipe right!). Now they showcase an item on the profile. Like these boots? Swipe right for a code for 10% off! I must sadly agree with Taddicken’s hypothesis and say users like myself accept ads like this because the social relevance of online dating trumps the desire for more privacy in one’s dating life. Users like myself likely fall into the category of people with a predisposed personality for some degree of self-disclosure. In order to try dating apps, one must accept a certain amount of self-disclosure and vulnerability with what you share in order to get matches and dates. However, most users also want to retain some degree of privacy and anonymity, as the murky waters of dating can become hazardous fairly quickly, especially for women. Finding the balance between trust, disclosure, and privacy is incredibly difficult in this sort of environment.

 

As Fuchs discusses, most literature dealing with online privacy puts the user on the hook for disclosing information. Any consequences are the fault of the user oversharing and not protecting themselves. We see this when women are harassed online, and blamed for just existing on the internet in the first place. Don’t like getting harassed? Don’t use the service. I agree with Fuchs’s assessment that this ignores the societal need for information technology. But the information shared on Tinder, no matter how personal or intimate, is bought and sold at the same rate as your Facebook interests (possibly even more considering the personal nature). Fact is, online dating has become a normal and acceptable way that millions meet and find relationships. We’ve put our romantic lives online, now for the profit of advertisers.

 

Adding the very personal and intimate information in to the mix of the behavioral tracking online that Kovacs discusses puts users in a pretty scary situation. Having the most personal of information people might discuss in Tinder conversations as fuel for advertising items back at them on Facebook oversteps the bounds of what I feel comfortable with as a user. Ultimately, Tinder matches are unpredictable strangers, and someone can quickly lead a conversation to a topic I don’t want to discuss. In another example, my Tinder matches often show up in my Facebook “People You May Know.” This really makes me uneasy because a Tinder match is far from a Facebook friend (supporting Taddicken’s discussion of levels and dimensions of disclosure). My Facebook, after more than 10 years with the service, is like my own home. I’m careful who I let in.

 

Nonetheless, I continue swiping for the time being, because, as Taddicken emphasizes, our behaviors don’t always match our awareness of risk.

4 thoughts on “Privacy on Tinder: Swipe Right to Learn More.

  1. Hi Jessica, interesting choice! Your statement about being bothered by your Facebook world and Tinder world colliding resonates with me. My online worlds, which I imagine to be separate, often end up mixed with each other and with my offline world in the ‘context collapse’ that we discussed in class. It seems like Facebook is attached to everything nowadays and difficult to avoid (and as I mentioned in class, I try to avoid it.) For instance, I have three instagram accounts, one for my band, one for myself, and one for a travel blog that I was toying with the idea of starting. I was under the impression/assumption that the travel blog account was private from my real-life friends unless I drew their attention to it. In my mind it was all very tidy: the personal account was for friends, the travel account was for strangers, and the band account was for both friends and strangers. Yet somehow (I’m still not sure how, but I blame Facebook) my friends started finding and following my travel account, which I ended up abandoning because it was so similar to my personal account that I felt redundant sharing both with the same audience.

    Like

  2. That’s really interesting, because I was considering starting two Twitter or Instagram accounts for the same purpose (one for professional-on-the-communications-field Jessica, and one for real-life Jessica) but with the way Facebook “recommends” people for us to follow, it seems difficult to keep these spheres separate, especially to keep one a secret/private.

    Like

  3. Hi Jessica. It seems how to balance privacy and disclosure on social media is an external topic. Self-disclosure is rewarding and provides significant benefits for individuals, but it also involves risks. You mentioned Tinder, and China has a similar app named “TANTAN” . Compared to traditional dating apps, this kind of app doesn’t need users to provide too much basic information. And TANTAN keeps struggling in protect women privacy through an automatic search function. Once they spot some sensitive words that may harass women, human service would get involved. We all want to retain some degree of privacy and anonymity on social media, but in return, others also would like to hide some information, such as job, address. As for me, anonymity on dating websites gives me a sense of insecurity instead.

    Like

Leave a comment